Taking for Granted

“Days pass, years vanish, and we walk sightless among miracles.” – Hebrew prayer

There’s nothing like waking up in a world full of blessings that you’ve been ignoring.  I do it all the time.  I get distracted, bogged down, and I lose sight of my blessings.

How do I lose sight?  I mean, blessings surround us, and we don’t notice until one of them drops away, malfunctions, or leaves us. They are dying from lack of attention.

I repeatedly get into the narrow space where my vision is locked on something far away, something I’m trying to bring closer or push away.
Planning and dreaming is a fine thing, but not at the cost of appreciating what’s already here. We know this. We all know this, but we forget.

Our tunnel vision sends us zooming toward a desire or a fear, while the periphery fades out.
We need more peripheral vision. We need to quit hunting so hard and graze a little, be peaceful, open our peripheral vision and appreciate what’s already here now.

blessing candles in sandOn Thanksgiving we slow down.  How good it feels to slow down and be with what is.  One of our family traditions is to light a candle for each blessing as we tell about it.  It’s a sweet time.
Yet gratitude practice may falter on ordinary days, despite a gratitude journal or other methods.
Often we are sightless among miracles.  The issue is in our eyes, in the habit of our attention.

Can we make time to stop and behold the blessings?
I hope I can.

Energy follows attention.  If my attention is far away, so am I.  I am not here, where all my blessings are smiling at me, waiting for me to wink back at them.

When I see them, they thrive, they expand.  And miracles abound.

About Diane Stallings

Diane Stallings RN, Reiki Master, Energy Healer, Healing Touch, Enneagram Coach, EFT tapping, Meditation Coach, Nutritionist, Integrative Health Coach www.joystream.net
This entry was posted in Mind and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking for Granted

  1. smilecalm says:

    two good eyes
    that offer the beauty of colours and forms
    such a miracle.
    one need only ask a blind man.
    and there is the gift of the other senses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

